There is life after 40

Yes, of course there is!

There is life after you turn 30, 40, 50, 60, 70, 80, etc.

Until the day that you die, there is always life and that is a fact.

Aging means that, as you continue to change both mentally and physically, you gain knowledge and experience.

You become wiser (hopefully!).

After all, we are the sum total of our experiences, be they positive or negative. They help you interact and create memories, all that you take from this world and leave behind.

At least, that is the way I see it. That is what I call living.

However, the way things work nowadays seem to contradict that line of reasoning, creating a true age stigma.

I truly hate stereotypes and it seems that the world, as we speak, it is full of oversimplified images or ideas.

The age gap

Almost twenty years ago, as I was starting a new job, I stumbled across the age dossier.

They were hiring young gunslingers. Veterans were being put aside.

The young guns were only concerned about getting things done no matter what. True bulldozers, bullies that often mistake perseverance and passion for aggression, with no respect for no one, including themselves.

Thing is, I truly believe that they were merely naive and eager to show the stuff they were made of. Not competitive, just simple-minded.

In terms of strategy, nothing new actually.

Carrot and stick approach of motivation.

As far as I see it, you need balance.

So, what did I do back then? I went “old school,” I wanted to learn (still do!).

But, as I soon found out, I was practically standing alone when it came to this matter.

That’s the way the dice rolls.

As I was growing up, all that society really expected was for you to follow a simple formula in terms of lifestyle: go to college, get married, have kids and get a job for life.

Well, as it so happens I’m a little bit disruptive. I tend not to follow what is perceived as a general rule, especially if I find it to be idiotic (according to my point of view, that is).

The only reason why I bring this up, is for the reader to better understand what I’m about to say about the world crisis that began in 2007.

Abruptly, it ended with the all a-job-for-life notion and that is a very good thing.

Don’t get me wrong, the world crisis caused a lot of unnecessary pain and misery. Nonetheless, it ended with a misconception.

No matter what age you are, you are still of great value to society. So, you do not need to get stuck with the same job for “all eternity”.

You need to share what you have learned. Your successes and your failures.

You need to keep up changing, gaining knowledge and interact.

But, unfortunately, the crisis did not bring the age stigma to an end. It has gotten worse!

I do not know about the rest of you but, when it comes to “dear old me” I’m all in, with guns blazing.

I will keep on fighting stereotypes (and all that is related to intolerance, bigotry, etc.).

That’s the good fight and it starts with you.

To sum up, there is life after you turn 30, 40, 50, 60, 70, 80, etc.

Don’t believe me?

I’m 43 years old, left my country, moved to Greece and found a new job.

I’m writing a book and, alongside with my wonderful wife, started a new project: @CW365!

So, whenever you ask me how old am I, I will tell you that I’m at the right age… every single time!

Leave a comment